The Red Lodge City Council consists of 6 members and the mayor.  The council members come from 3 wards of roughly the same number of people: 2 members from each ward.  All members and the mayor serve 2 year terms.  The mayor is elected in odd numbered years and each year one member from each ward is elected.  Though council members are elected by wards they all work for and try to represent the needs of the entire city.

Council Meetings

  • Council meets regularly on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Council Chambers of City Hall.
  • All council meetings are open to the public.
  •  Agendas, supporting documents, and minutes for council meetings can be found on the City Council Meetings webpage.


There are separate departments within the city, administered by department heads who are hired by the mayor.